From Humaniversity
Jump to: navigation, search

For reasons known only to themselves, the consortium of Clarkesons responsible for the Humaniversity project appear to have researched human records and applied the classic Norse "Nine Realms" (Niflheim, Muspelheim, Asgard, Midgard, Jotunheim, Vanaheim, Alfheim, Svartalfheim, Helheim) to the 20th century catalog of the solar system, retaining Pluto's status as a planet. This naming scheme shows up throughout any official materials associated with the school, its facilities, and even many of the other alien races involved (e.g., the Glamorkan are equated with the dwarves of Nidavellir). Presumably this is just another example of Clarkeson perversity. Think of it as a running gag throughout the series, one which will require explanation (though hopefully not info dumps) among characters.

In this scheme, the planet we call Jupiter is equated with Asgard and its moons (seventy-nine at last count) are named for the gods of that realm. Specifically, Callisto, the outermost of what are traditionally referred to as the Galilean moons, and home to the project, is Wotan under this new naming system. Since it's also the only structure on the surface of the moon, the name Wotan is also given to the school.


Mercury => Muspelheim

Venus => Vanaheim

Earth => Midgard

Mars => Alfheim

Jupiter => Asgard

Saturn => Jotunheim

Uranus => Svartalfheim

Neptune => Niflheim

Pluto => Helheim

Back to What